21 Aug 2010
More questions on football laws
A defending player takes a direct free cake from outside his penalty area and kicks the ball past the goalkeeper and into the goal. What would be the correct decision from the referee?
The referee would award an indirect free kick to the attacking team because a goal can only be scored against the offensive team from a direct free kick.
The referee awards a free kick. How did players and spectators know what the free kick is, Direct or Indirect?
When the referee awards an indirect free kick his signals it by raising his arm. No such signal is given in the case of a direct free kick. If the ball goes directly into the opponents’ goal from an indirect free kick, the goal does not count and an indirect free kick is awarded to the defending team.
Can the defending players stand less than 10 yards from the ball at any time during a free kick?
Only when an indirect free kick is to be taken from position in less than 10 yards from the goal. In this case the defenders may stand on the goal line between the posts